The Art of Making Comics

Throughout these last few weeks, I’ve been writing about the history of comics and creating my own, sometimes emulating or at least referencing comics I’ve talked about. I think it is necessary for me to create a comic each week and include it. Not only do I enjoy making these comics, the obligation (I’ve set for myself) helps develop my creativity and helps improve my skills. Today, I wanted to share with you how I go about making my own comics.

1) Most of the time, I think about the topic of that week’s blog. From there, an intense brainstorming session takes place. Sometimes no ideas come to me, sometimes they are all horrible ideas, and sometimes, the figurative light bulb goes off. No matter what, I always make a comic.

The important thing is to CREATE—even if it isn’t my best work, it’s worth it just to put something together.

1a) Even if I’m not making a comic for the blog, I’ll start off with a simple idea. I still might brainstorm, but most of the time it just occurs to me that something might make for a funny comic.
2) I make a simple sketch of the potential comic.
3) The sketchbook comes out and pencil goes to paper. I use pencil first because I make LOTS of mistakes.
4) Inking! (Hopefully, I don’t mess up in this stage)
5) Coloring! (If I feel like it…or if I think it’ll enhance the comic)

My process is pretty straightforward and simple, but there it is. If you do something different or have any suggestions, let me know! I would love to hear from you!  

Leave a Reply

